Loading your recommendations…

1972-1973 Meadowdale High School Football Team

Class of 1972-1973 Ranked No. 2 in Washington’s Final UPI and AP Polls

page image

The 1972-73 Meadowdale football team was undefeated with a 10-0 season record. They outscored opponents 248-66, which is still a school record. The 1972-73 school year was one year prior to the Washington Interscholastic Activities Association (WIAA) implementing the state championship playoff system for football. Prior to this new playoff system, the football state champions were determined by the United Press International (UPI) and Associated Press (AP) polls final ranking. State perennial power Wenatchee was ranked #1 in the fall 1971 final UPI and AP polls. In 1972, Wenatchee had a season record of 9-1, but they were again ranked #1 in the two final polls. Of the 10 teams in the final rankings, Meadowdale was the only undefeated team. All of the other top 10 teams had one loss.
Meadowdale’s team was a senior dominated team that  featured seniors starting in all of the positions but two. During the team’s first four games, the Chiefs won relatively easily but in game five against Lynnwood, they trailed for the first time, 0-6. The Chiefs managed to rally and win 24–6. Two weeks later, the Chiefs were behind 14-20 in the fourth quarter; however, behind primarily the running of QB Mark Hobbs (138 yards) and halfback Mark Raethke (122 yards) came back to win 27-20. In the final game of the season, the Chiefs were hampered somewhat with All-Conference QB Mark Hobbs having flu-like symptoms. One adjustment made to compensate for Hobbs’ situation was for speedy halfback and defensive back Don Beriault to carry the ball more often than normal. And, it worked as he scored both touchdowns on runs of 13 and 80 yards to defeat Blanchet 14-0 for Meadowdale’s first WESCO Conference Title.
For the Chiefs it was a 10-0 perfect season but otherwise an imperfect season in that they were one year short of being able to compete in a state playoff to determine the state champions.
Players: (listed alphabetically)

Ken Allen, Tim Anderson, Steve Bankston, Tom Baumgartner, Tim Bean, Don Beriault, Dave Bullock, Bart Carstensen, Leonard Cobb, J.C. Comet, Glen Crosbie, Dan Dawson, Ed Deinas, Bill Ewing, Mark Fenimore, Steve Foster, Jeff Fox, Rick Geston, Kim Graham, Dean Hendrickson, Mark Hobbs, Pat Hoffer, Gary Hoggins, Randy
Jackson, Jim Johnson, Rick Kruckenberg, Monty Lind, Tim
McCormick, Scott McFarlane, Rich McKenzie, Don Musseau, Jim Noonan, Ron Perry, Scott Pinger, Jeff, Pinneo, Mark Raethke, Bob Ray, Steve Reed, Glenn Rice, Lane Rohel, Joe Silva, Gary Smith, Lyn Sorensen, Doug Steinmetzer, Mike Stone, Dave Vick

Head Coach: Ron Bates

Assistant Coaches: Terry Johnson, Skip Kays, and Tim Clark
Manager: David Wilson


Season’s Games & Scores:
Meadowdale 24    Woodway 0
Meadowdale 46    Bellingham 0
Meadowdale 21    Cascade 7
Meadowdale 20    Edmonds 0
Meadowdale 24    Lynnwood 6
Meadowdale 24    Everett 7
Meadowdale 27    Mountlake Terrace 20
Meadowdale 21    Seattle Prep
Meadowdale 27    Snohomish 14
Meadowdale 14    Blanchet 0

Want More Trip Inspiration?

Subscribe to our newsletter to get the freshest stories, videos, and travel ideas from our corner of the PNW.

Sign Me Up